Post-Venn analysis

An EXCLUSIVE rundown for TCTE of everything me and my mate Andy saw at Venn on Saturday 😉

Aufgehoben

Aufgehoben

Venn says:
AUFGEHOBEN are, hands down, one of Britain’s most exciting bands. Double drummer attack, scorching electronic shock therapy plus amazingly rhythmic guitar freak Gary Smith. This is only their fourth show in eight years. Momentous, clattering and with that propulsive heavy live funk that can drive you mad. Fearless, warped and uncaged beast music.

Andy says:
Just fucking pretentious, really, everything I hoped we’d lost back in the 70s.

I says:
Like having a big satisfying shit in the morning to set you up for the day. Pleasantly loud. Sadly lacking in tunes. I had thought, ‘”Double drummer attack”? Cool, it’ll be like Adam & The Ants!’ Unfortunately they were more like Genesis. Twice.

Bellatrix

Bellatrix

Venn says:
BELLATRIX is Bristol-based and a seriously dexterous Beatboxer (the only female at the UK Beatbox Championships). She will be playing two jawdrop sets at Venn. At Thekla she plays with the Tenor sax player Josh Arcoleo. Bella will be abusing a live loop machine to layer up her vocal tricks, bass playing and cornet licks into wild grooves.
Then she returns in club mode, with mouth, mic and a tonnage of tunes, covers and original beatbox compositions. Oh yes. Party time, in true Venn ’07 kaldescopic, mulit-funktional stye. Vocal percussion all over your face. Beat crazy.

Andy says:
Iwould have liked more Bella, less tricks. And I can’t work out whether sax playres are good or whether it’s just saxophones sound good no matter what. And she sounds well posh, mummy and daddy surely didn’t pay all that money on her education for her to be doing this did they?

I says:
Very enjoyable grooves, though more with the live looping than that much actual beatboxing. She briefly lost her concentration and had to reloop some bars, which made it a bit more jazz than I’d have liked, but overall I liked it a lot, especially when she was mixing in the bass guitar and the cornet along with the sax dude.

Sleb spotting:
Mild-mannered, impressively-locked bearded man of breakcore & dubstep Ironside was there (well, I think twas him), and he seemed to enjoy it – so much so he took his hat off!!! 8)

My Two Toms

My Two Toms

Venn says:
Duel Banjo good times from this un-troublesome pairing. A perfect match for drinking, arm wrestling, sewing, front porch chitter chatter and kissing. Sweet tunes and favorites of Herman Dune.

Andy says:
Really good!

I says:
Really good!

SJ Esau

SJ Esau

Venn says:
SJ ESAU’s signing to Californian label Anticon is the best Bristol music news of the millennium, and it screams such perfect sense: few artists in the world more vividly echo the US collective’s idiom of ‘being yourself in your bedroom with a beat running’, as Dose One would have it.
Recently reissued album ‘Wrong Faced Cat Feed Collapse’ grandly demonstrates Sam Wisternoff’s explorations into loop-happy, heartscrapingly personal 21st Century popsong, but, truly, you owe yourself the SJ Esau live encounter: so irresistably humble and bare are his words and sounds, it’ll almost feel like he owes you it too.

Andy says:
Now he is brilliant, I like how he makes out he’s a bit clumsy and that, forgetting things, some great tunes too.

I says:
Top stuff, very nice indeed.

Sleb spotting:
Children’s toy abuser, multi-talented musician/rock god, podcaster extraordinaire and a man who has single-wristedly made sweatbands fashionable once more, Mr Kid Carpet appeared to be present and correct, enjoying the music and sporting a spiffing haircut!

Dr Joel

Dr Joel

Venn says:
DR JOEL infuses Ivor Cutler, Shelia Chandra, John Lennon and Bugs Bunny into his airy Indian/English songs, which he plays on keyboard, ankle bells and with South Indian classical vocal percussion. Jolly up yourself.

Andy says:
This is terrible, let’s try downstairs.

I says:
Well, I liked it.

Ghostigital

Ghostigital

Venn says:
GHOSTIGITAL’s Einar Örn Benediktsson may as well be christened ‘Mr Venn’. As part of chaos-pop collective The Sugarcubes with Bjork from 1986, he brought a freeform rap element to the most influential Icelandic band ever to exist. When the band went on an amicable and undefined hiatus in 1992 (how often does THAT happen?) Orn created the first internet cafe in his home country, before recording one record for FatCat as Grindverk. Then, in 2003, came Ghostigital with his producer comrade Curver: albums on Honest Jon’s and Ipecac and work with Mark E. Smith and Dalek followed.
It’s an astonishing live spectacle with a colourful musical canvas that takes in spiteful electro, juddering hip hop and rugged rock terrain, onto which Orn splays his deranged, delirious thoughtspeak. ‘The fun bit’, he says, ‘is whether I remember where I am, lyrics or what I am’.

Andy says:
This is awful, it’s just noise! Let’s try the Louisiana…

I says:
Dude, you’re getting old!

Sleb spotting:
The afore-mentioned Kid Carpet & SJ Esau deep in conspiratorial hugger-mugger. Oh, and a woman I remember from a free party – Jude’s birthday do, around 1998 iirc, in a field in Flax Bourton, Ed & Ben from the pre-DMT record shop were there, a geodesic tent that wouldn’t go up, missing sound system, lots of nitrous, a fire, fun and frolics but no tunes till 9 in the morning – anyhow, I’m sure it was her! Has a lovely laugh. Damn, this is going to do my head in now. Can’t for the life of me remember her name 😐

The Master Chaynjis

The Master Chaynjis

Venn says:
THE MASTER CHAYNJIS are the nu-song heroes of Bristol’s indie scene, playing gypsy-esque songs about drinking, thinking and being outside the box. Haunting lyrical voices and handy instrumentation make for good, if unsteady times.

Andy says:
“Gypsy-esque songs about drinking, thinking and being outside the box”?! I’m going to the toilet.

I says:
Thoroughly enjoyable, boisterous stuff. Definitely digging the chug-a-lug grooves, the singer has a nice line in the plaintive warbling, and I *blushes* rather like the violinist too, though the fingerless lace gloves might be prejudicing me. But if that bloke standing next to me tells me one more time how much they sound like fucking Japan (“…You know! David Sylvian!!!“) then I really might have to scream, and not in a sexy way.

Sleb spotting:
Erm… Artist/curator/zine queen Lady Lucy? I think I saw her. I had been drinking, however. I had to switch to teh cola 😦

Adrian Orange And The Child Slave Rebellion

Adrian Orange

Venn says:
ADRIAN ORANGE AND THE CHILD SLAVE REBELLION was formerly known as Thanksgiving. So the man of mystery arrives on the shores of Venn to treat those that can imagine Will Oldham being backed by an afrobeat ensemble to good times. He is gonna sing at you and you will want to sing back, because these songs are wonderful. Preach from his songbook and no sinning.

Andy says:
I have to catch me bus in a bit, shall we go?

I says:
I can’t really remember anything, I shoulda switched to soft drinks earlier 😮 But I’m fairly certain I liked what I heard. I don’t remember my ears bleeding or anything.

One response to “Post-Venn analysis

  1. Pingback: Another night out « Bristle’s Blog from the BunKRS

Leave a Reply

