Spamski

Polish spam

I don’t know why, but I keep getting drawn to the Polish convenience foods that the local shops seem so full of these days. I think it’s the pretty labels that does it. Pampapol’s klopsiki is rather nice, and Pudliszki’s gulasz is more than edible.

However, I think with Mispol’s ‘Konserwa Turystyczna’ (which, as the helpfully bilingual label informs us, is ‘”Tourist” brand cured pork’) I may have bitten off more than I can chew. Well, maybe not chew, as it’s the floppiest, wobbliest, least solid spam I’ve ever tasted. I don’t even like spam.

Ingredients: mechanically deboned chicken meat, water, pork rinds, pork fat, pork meat (4%), modified corn starch, soya protein, salt, stabilisers: E450i, E451i; thickener: E412, natural spices, natural spice extracts, flavour enhancer: E621, antioxidant: E316, preservative: E250. Contains: soya.

Leave a Reply

