Some notes on David Cameron’s Bristol rally

I saw about two hundred people – ticket-holding, card-carrying Tories from what I could gather – queuing up to get in to the Old Passenger Shed at Temple Meads this afternoon.

I observed an ethnicity breakdown of approximately:

186 White (93%) : 12 (South) Asian (6%) : 1 Chinese (Asian) (0.5%) : 1 Black (0.5%)

Of course, this is completely subjective, and I was hardly sat down with a phrenological chart or anything. But I was startled by just how pale Cameron’s audience was. Aren’t these things scrupulously stage-managed? (Admittedly the apparatchiks running the door looked like they were auditioning for an undergraduate am-dram version of Brideshead Revisited, so perhaps the calibre of party machine hacks running the Dave Show really is that low.)

I was also somewhat shocked by just how close to the stereotype of the sloaney Conservative student the vast majority of the younger people there were: braying, badly (but expensively) dressed, with peculiarly proportioned faces. Seriously, I am not making this up. I grew up in the countryside, and I never saw anything this bad there. And the accents! Oh, my, the accents…

Plenty of the people arriving for the event were perfectly personable, courteous, polite; but I did encounter a sizeable minority of unpleasant dicks brimming over with a sense of entitlement and superiority. I guess they’re just readying themselves for a bit of gloves-off class war.

Oh, and I spotted local candidates Adeela Shafi (Bristol East) (I think) and Charlotte Leslie (Bristol North West). Somewhat surprisingly Adeela ignored the Big Issue seller outside* – no sense of cameraderie. In contrast Charlotte (whom I may have mentioned once or twice before) looked rather relaxed – certainly relaxed enough not to have bothered changing out of her gardening clothes for a hometown visit by her Duce. No fruit & flowers in evidence either!

* The Big Issue seller told me that he’d only managed to sell a single copy to any of the two hundred Tories queuing up.

ETA:

The Evening Post says there were “more than 200 people” there.

One response to “Some notes on David Cameron’s Bristol rally

  1. here is a poem i wrote yesterday
    there was a man called david cameron
    who wanted a return to legally chasing and
    killing wild animals for fun
    and badger culling by gun
    who kept it quiet on the election campaign
    so as no 10 might be his domain
    for wild animals that would be a crying shame.

    andrew williams [5/5/10/]

Leave a Reply

